Another 2009 WHFB Campaign AAR

In the second round of the 2009 Warhammer Campaign I once again found my Vampire Counts, led by Manfred “Voldemort” Von Carstein facing Vince’s “OSU Buckeye” Bretonnians, backed up by the Green (“Scarlet and Gray”) Knight.  

Having been thumped by the undead in round one, Vince decided to go with a classic “refused flank” strategy and lined most of his knights on one side of the field with his peasants forming a thin line across the rest.  A unit of pegasus knights was set up in the back.  I responded to this plot by dumping my Grave Guard units and the Black Coach in the knights’ way, which my cavalry and my skellie units would plow up the center.  In terms of strategy the two of us would circle each other and I figured my tarpit units would hold him up while I crushed his center and came around for the flank.

Disaster struck me however just as Manfred and his Blood Knights were hitting the Bretonnian line.  Having been turned away by two dispel scrolls already, Manfred cast a low-level throwaway spell on the pegasus knights with the hope of lowering their leadership and preventing them for swooping in on the action.  Unbeknownst to him, one of the pegasus knights was a little English boy with round classes going “Expelliarmus” and he miscast the spell, then rolled two ones on the miscast table.  One rip in the space/time continuum later and Manfred (500 points), his barded nightmare, a blood knight, and three men-at-arms were all gone.  “I’m in the game!” shouted Vince.

The rest was brutal as my three remaining necromancers tried desperately to outmaneuver the knights using Vanhel’s Danse Macabre, but even as the pedulum occasionally swung in my direction, the cause was lost.  Manfred’s army loses 200 points the next battle.

Leave a Reply

