This post should have pics, but doesn’t

Okay, so I’ve been working on this helipad for the past two or three weeks.  I’m the kind of guy who likes to get most of the casting for a project out of the way, rather than try to alternate between casting and building.  As a result, I haven’t been posting a lot of pics, because all you’d see is bricks.

I have built the platform part of the helipad out of Starship Deck tiles.  I wanted to do a border using the first mold I ever bought, the Station Builder mold.

Now, I don’t have my digital camera right now, but I want you to imagine three items:

  1. two 1.5″ bricks from the SB mold
  2. three 1″ floor tiles, glued together
  3. three inches marked on a metal ruler

Now imagine that none of them are the same.  And not a little off, but a lot off.  (1) is too long, (2) is too short.  And It’s such a mess that really don’t know what I’m going to do with it but damnit right now I’m just mad.  I think I’m going to drop the whole sci-fi thing for a while and just stick to ruined fieldstone, which is a lot more forgiving.

As a final note: that Station Builder mold has never worked right.  I know Bruce does top quality stuff, but for whatever reason that mold is just a total *itch to work with.

Leave a Reply

